дипломы,курсовые,рефераты,контрольные,диссертации на заказ
Рефераты История

Просмотр реферата - The Union Jack

The Union Jack

Скачать реферат The Union Jack в zip архиве

The flag of the UK is officially called the Union flag, because it embodies the emblems of three countries united under one monarch.
|[pic] |The Union Flag is commonly known as the Union Jack, |
| |although the exact origin of the name is unclear. |

One explanation is that it gets its name from the "jack staff" of naval vessels (a small flagpole at the front of Royal Navy vessels) from which the original Union Flag was flown.
It is commonly known as the Union Jack, although the exact origin of the name is unclear. One explanation is that it gets its name from the "jack staff" of naval vessels (a small flagpole at the front of Royal Navy vessels) from which the original Union Flag was flown.
The Union Flag should be flown with the broader diagonal band of white uppermost in the hoist (near the pole) and the narrower band of white uppermost in the fly (furthest from the pole).
The emblems that appear on the Union Flag are the crosses of the three patron Saints:
|[pic] |the white diagonal cross, or saltire, of St Andrew, for |
| |Scotland, on a blue ground; |

|[pic] |the red cross of St George, for England, on a white |
| |ground; and |

|[pic] |the red diagonal cross attributed to St Patrick, for |
| |Ireland, on a white ground. |

Wales is not represented on the Union Flag because by the time the first version of the flag appeared, Wales was already united with England.
|[pic] |The Welsh Flag, a red dragon on a field of white and |
| |green, dates from the fifteenth century. |

History of the Union Flag
The Union Flag underwent a gradual development. The first one was created in 1606, when England and Scotland were united under one King (James I of
England/James VI of Scotland), by combining the flags of St George and St
In the seventeenth century the flag underwent several changes. After the execution of Charles I in 1649, Oliver Cromwell the Lord Protector introduced a special Commonwealth flag consisting of St George's cross and the gold harp of Ireland. When Charles II was restored to the throne in
1660 he reintroduced the Union Flag of James I.
The final version of the Union Flag appeared in 1801, following the union of Great Britain with Ireland, with the inclusion of the cross of St
Patrick. The cross remains on the flag although only Northern Ireland now remains part of the United Kingdom.

Обзор других работ по истории

The Impact the Civil War 1861-1865 on Economic, Politic and Industry Development in the USA

ll either assume that permission has been granted or will require the private citizen to grant his permission. The situations tend to be dramatic: Firefighters, for example, are usually allowed to enter private property to prevent the spread of a fire and frequently are authorized to destroy private property in order to prevent the spread of a fire.
In the 1960s a number of U.S. Supreme Court cases starkly posed the conflict between the property owner's right to exclude and civil rights, in the context of "sit-ins" in restaurants that were excluding customers on racial grounds. These cases suggested, if they did not quite hold, that in this context the possessory right of the restaurant owner would have to yield to the civil-rights claim of those sitting in. In the same period a number of courts held that owners of farms could not exclude visitors from agricultural migrant labour camps.
The conflict in these cases between property rights and civil rights was made starker by the   Читать       

The history of Australia

he status of dominion of Great Britain. The Commonwealth of Australia – a federation of the 6 former colonies as states – was declared to come into being on
January 1, 1901. The first Governor – General, the Earl of Hopetoun, convened the first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia on April
29, 1901. It was opened in Melbourne on May 9 by Duke of Cornwall and York, son of King Edward VII. Sir Edmund Barton was the first Prime Minister.

The constitution provided for Federal Parliament to sit in Melbourne until a federal capital territory was selected and established. The present
Australian Capital Territory was ceded from New South Wales to become federal territory in 1911, and the future capital was named Canberra in
1913. The first Federal Parliament to meet in Canberra was opened by the
Duke of York, later King George VI, on May 9, 1927.

Though Australia now is an independent state, according to the
Constitution the head of the state is the   Читать

© 2000 — 2017, Все права защищены